Skip to content ↓

Thrapston

Primary School

Reception

Reception are based around the back of the Red Kite building.

Butterfly Class Teacher:
Mrs Pursey-Clark
lpursey-clark@thrapston.net

Grasshopper Class Teachers:
Mrs Charles
bcharles@thrapston.net

Miss Meehan   lmeehan@thrapston.net

Ladybird Class Teachers:

Mrs Evans   levans@thrapston.net

Mrs Kelly   kkelly@thrapston.net

 

Butterfly Class Teaching Assistant:
Mrs Walker
nwalker@thrapston.net

Reception SEND Teaching Assistant:
Mrs Graham
dgraham@thrapston.net

Grasshopper Class Teaching Assistant:
Mrs Turney
gturney@thrapston.net

Reception SEND Teaching Assistant:

Mr Turner   jturner@thrapston.net

Ladybird Teaching Assistant:
Miss Fox   jfox@thrapston.net

In Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation stage document, with your child moving onto the National Curriculum when in Year 1. 

The key method of learning in the Early Years is through ‘active exploration and play’. This involves children having the freedom to apply their learned skills through practical, directed and non – directed activities which help to cement their learning. Children are continually immersed into a theme which is based on their interests and help them to develop their knowledge in the seven areas of development:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Personal. Social and Emotional Development
  3. Physical Development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the World
  7. Expressive Arts and Design

Within the Early Years, learning occurs both indoors and outdoors. Learning is supported through directed activities which take place in both environments. We believe that a wide range of experiences are vital to developing the learning of the whole child. This is why we do not view the seven areas of development as singular topics, but ones that integrate within each other. This includes outdoor learning as it provides many experiences which indoors cannot accommodate, such as bug hunting, seasonal change and large scale construction. We encourage children to be outside in all weathers to ensure they develop a breath of experience and knowledge throughout their time in the Early Years.

We communicate individual children's learning through the Interactive Learning Diary where school staff and adults at home can all add to the learning experiences of the individual. If you cannot log into this please see one of the Reception team who will be able to help you. 

Website links - 

Phonics play to support phonic learning.

Oxford Owl to support reading skills

Oxford owl for online maths activities

 Topmarks for online Maths games

Crickweb for online EYFS activities