Skip to content ↓


Primary School

Governance Structure


Thrapston Primary School is a Foundation School. This means that it is a maintained school in which the Board of Governors is the employer, owns the land and buildings and sets the admission criteria. The instrument of government ensures that the board includes representation from major stakeholder groups; Parents, staff, local community and the Local Authority.

Authority for all operational activities is delegated to the Headteacher, Pauline Turner. The Chair of Governors is Mrs Fiona McGill. Governance functions are retained at board level.

The Board of Governors continues to delegate powers to committee level for annual activities such as Pay Review and Headteacher Performance Management. Committees will also operate as required to cover topics such as Complaints/Appeals and School Admissions. In all these cases, committee membership will be formed from within a pool of eligible members of the board.


The governance structure and all delegated powers are reviewed annually, typically during the first meeting of each academic year. The Chair of Governors and Vice Chair are also both elected during this meeting.